Home > LinkedIn Technologies > InMaps from LinkedIn

InMaps from LinkedIn


Hi,

Today, I had an obvious question in my head : What is the purpose of having a very big number of LinkedIn contacts if you don’t have the way to find them quickly?

In many cases, I select future contacts because their profile is so interesting for me but unfortunately I forget a big number of them.

Anyway, it’s a presentation problem of the contacts. And, surprise, LinkedIn Labs have developed this great tool : InMaps.

This wonderful functionality allows you to draw a nice graph of your contacts and defines relationships. You can access quickly to your contact and have all the other common connections. It took just some seconds to draw my 187 contacts.

I have also appreciated the classification according to the activity domains of the contacts in what is named clusters.

A very nice tool, really, you can find it here.

  1. November 30, 2012 at 3:35 pm

    I love this functionality but I have always wished they would not draw the lines from each connection to the center. It clutters things up with needless information. This would also allow the arrangement of the clusters to be more natural since it would not have to be one dimensional (left or right on a circle around me) but rather two dimensional (close or not close to other clusters as appropriate).

    I’ve been trying to rerun my map for the past two days but it says the InMaps function is unavailable. Hope it returns soon!

  2. December 1, 2012 at 5:51 pm

    Excellent suggestion !

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

