Home > MS Technologies > IIS Web Garden is finally explained!

IIS Web Garden is finally explained!


Hi,

I have read some awesome things about the Web Garden feature in IIS (since the 6.0 version). The principle is so simple; executing your Site using multiple worker processes. Logically, this feature aimed to boost your site performances.

My test environnement is a php Web Site running in FastCGI mode on IIS 7.5. This site interacts with a backend SQL Server database. I have used many stress tools and profilers like the Zend performance tool.

Obviously, The first thing to test was the time response of my site. Incredible result: my site is slower!!!!!!!!!!!!

But I have noticed that the number of worker processes increases with the big number of concurrent requests. However, my site is still slower!

I have searched for the reason. Finally, I got the response from this wonderful video;

First of all, I forgot to verify an other important point: the site bandwidth. I noticed that with 2 worker processes, My site could treat more requests. I have obtained these statistics using SCOM.

If my site is slower, the cause is the consumed synchronization time, the cache synchronization and other parameters explained in the video.

My next post will explain, inchaEllah, better my own experience with the Web garden.

Categories: MS Technologies Tags: ,
  1. November 27, 2012 at 8:02 am

    Hello to every body, it’s my first go to see of this web site; this weblog consists of awesome and genuinely excellent material in support of visitors.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

